Butterick 5599 Dress

12 Jun
 
 
I love this dress. I love this pattern. I love this fabric.
The End.
 
Just kidding.
 
 
Sorry, All my dress pictures were taken post-wear, hence the wrinkles.
 
 
 
 
I knew this dress would fit well [and do well for my body shape] from the start because I have a RTW dress with a similar shape in my closet so I snatched up the pattern during one of the sales and waited for a fabric match. The fabric is from Joann’s but I love it! I have a special place in my heart for all things royal blue.
 
I wore this dress over the weekend for a wedding and it was perfect. Don’t mind the sensible shoes.  I wore them thinking I would have to chase a two-year old through a reception.  We ended up leaving him at home last-minute but they still worked well for salsa dancing.
 
Side note: The wedding was really neat. One of Edwin’s friends got married to a guy from Colombia.  She is one of 11 kids and loves Latin culture so it was a huge mix of everyone’s background with millions of kids everywhere!  The Father who performed the ceremony was a young man I recognized from a New Year’s Eve house party a few years back and that made me giggle in my pew.  He did a great job and the whole ceremony and reception was done in Spanglish so that everyone [or no one] could understand it.
 
 
Project Details:
 
 
Pattern: Butterick B5599 View A
Pattern Sizing: 4-20, I cut the 16 and graded to the 18 for the hips.
 
Description: Close-fitting, straight, lined, halter-dresses, above mid-knee, have shaped bands and insets, side pockets, pleated skirt front and back zipper.

Did it look like the pattern envelope when you were done sewing it?  Yes it did!
 
Fabric: Cotton Sateen from Joanns and some kind of white satin for the lining.
 
Were the instructions easy to follow?  They were pretty easy to follow. I may have had to read a few more than once during the bodice construction.
 

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the style. It is perfect for the summer. I can wear it to my work or out to dinner. I like that it nips at the waist. I can use all the help I can get with that!  The bodice looks really really nice. My coworkers didn’t notice that it was ‘homemade’ at all. I had to tell them. The topstitching really looks good on this pattern.
 
 
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made? Not too much. I used muslin instead of sew-in interfacing and serged the shell and interfacing pieces together instead of hand basting. It worked fine and no raw edges!!  The directions call for cups, so I tried 4 different varieties and they all gave me “Square Tatas” a-la Danielle from Real Housewives of New Jersey.  So I left them out and used a strapless bra.  The only problem is that I feel a little claustrophobic with bra and fitted bodice- - -but hey! I looked good.  When I sewed the bodice side seams, the top was a little big, so I did take maybe a half-inch out of each side.
 
 
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would totally recommend this to others. It is a cute wearable dress.  I would only be weary if you have to make a serious FBA.  There are a gazillion pieces I can see that it could get complicated.
 
Bonus Picture:
What my kiddo was supposed to wear to the wedding before he broke out in a weird rash and we left him behind [with G-ma]
 

So cute!!! Check out those seersuckers.

2 Responses to “Butterick 5599 Dress”

  1. Lakaribane June 12, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I love this dress so much but I never considered a print. Yours is lovely! I just received this pattern from my aunt and it’s moving up the TBS pile, LOL!

    • justsewsew June 12, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      Thanks! The best part is that the print is broken up so much that you don’t have to match. I’m sure you will love your dress!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

