Vogue 1250 Dress

15 Jun

 

I know that everyone and their mother, sister and cousin has made this dress but I glad that they did, because I ended up seeing it look so good and jumped on the bandwagon.  Honestly, I never would have made this dress without seeing it on so many blogs.  The pattern envelope is just kind of blah and it doesn’t look special enough to make.  This is my most recent project and  I wore it to work today.  All of the pictures were taken post-work.

 

Don’t mind my face.  I think I’m telling my husband to take the dang picture already under my breath.

Pattern Description: Close fitting Dress.

Pattern Sizing:  A5(6-8-10-12-14), EE(14-16-18-20)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did, or at least it was pretty close.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy. At first when I was cutting I didn’t understand one of the funky curved pieces but as soon as I sewed the first pieces it all came together and made sense and was so easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? What is there not to like about this pattern? There are three pieces, it takes no time to put together, and uses little fabric.  It looked nice on even before I did my alterations and the dress is figure-flattering.  I particularly like the neckband piece and the stability it gives.

Fabric Used: Navy Jersey from G-Street Fabrics in Seven Corners, Va.  I found this when I stopped in on Mother’s Day on the way to a friend’s house  AND it was on the clearance table: only $2.97/yard! I wish I had bought the bolt. This jersey is so soft and thick and heavy and yummy l that I had a hard time choosing the right project for it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I originally made the dress in a size 16 bodice and 18 skirt according to measurements and experience. Whenever the skirt is straight or snug fitting, I always go up to an 18. It was okay and I could have gone with it as is but I looked at it some more and decided that there was too much ease.  I mean, I didn’t want a sausage casing, just a curve-hugging knit dress that didn’t read “I got this on sale at Kohls”.  I also wanted to be able to get the look I wanted sans belt.  I took maybe two inches out of  each side of the bust and waist and tackled a sway back alteration by taking at least an inch out of the back waist seam. After these alterations, I couldn’t get the seam to lay right in the hips so I simply continued the side seam all the way down and it worked!  I also used stitchwitch for the hem and plan to go back at some point and do a double needle hem.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will absolutely make this dress again.  It is so wearable and such a instant gratification project that can be done during two episodes of Criminal Minds.  I am currently scouting for fabric and will make it in as many dark jewel-toned hues that I can find.  I can wear it to work, out to dinner, or just shmying around.

3 Responses to “Vogue 1250 Dress”

  1. Lakaribane June 15, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    It’s really cute and I just got this pattern yesterday!!! It’s moving up the TBS list.

    A question about your shoes. Aerosoles or Naturalizer…or what? I love the round toe + knot + wedge!!!

    • justsewsew June 15, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      They are BC Footwear and I got them at DSW. I tried to find a link for you, but I guess they disappeared from the internet! They are the most perfect work shoes ever and the knot is actually two D-rings linked together.

  2. GiftedAmy June 28, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    So cute, I love this pattern, I just made this dress a couple of days ago too.

Leave a Reply

