Vogue 1225 Modified

18 Jun

 

I find that I always need more tops.  And cool blouse patterns are hard to find.  Well. . . at least for me they are.  Most of the time I prefer to devote my energy to dresses because I feel they give me a higher payoff.

It took me forever to figure out what to use this fabric for.  It is the softest knit ever. . . but with thousands of tiny charcoal grey polka dots.  I had enough for a dress, my original plan, but then again, that’s a lot of dots and I’m a lot of girl.

I used this pattern twice in the Spring to make dresses for my trip to Ecuador.  They worked out really well and were comfortable and cool to wear in the extremely hot, I MEAN HOT!, AC-free temperatures.  I decided then, if I ever stopped sweating, that I would finally use that coveted jersey for a cute, not bought from Anthropologie, top.

Pattern Description:  Loose-fitting, pullover dress, above mid-knee, has mock wrap bodice with gathered, draped front, elasticized waist and pockets, back neckline has slit and adjustable drawstring tie ends.

Pattern Sizing: BB(8-10-12-14) F5( 16-18-20-22-24)  I made a size 16.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, despite the fact I made a top in lieu of a dress.

Were the instructions easy to follow?  Yes, no problems.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  This is one of those patterns that is a good base but needs a lot of adjustments.  With that said, it is very easy to wear, and very comfortable and perfect for Summer.

Fabric Used:  Unbelievably soft Bamboo Jersey from my stash circa 2006, originally from the most glorious day of finding nice knits ever on the $2.97/yd table at G-Street Fabrics.  The lace was bought on Etsy and came in the cutest little box all the way from Israel. 

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Obviously I made it into a top instead of a dress.  I raised the armhole by 1″, which EVERYONE should do, and lowered the waistline by 1″.  I added lace in the princess seam and topstitched the seam to keep it in place.  The lace also helped me out with hemming the sleeves.  I hate hemming.  Not even ‘ strongly dislike’.  Hate.  Anyhoo, the lace made it easier because I simply serged the lace to the sleeve and turned the inside seam allowance edge  up  and then topstitched it to keep the lace from flipping around.  I made a curved hem.  I serged the bottom like a casing, pressed it with the inside seam allowance up, and then used the topstitch again.  The pattern calls for a self casing.  I don’t like that with this pattern because it makes it too bulky in the front from all of the gathers.  I recommend serging the waist seam and making the casing from another piece of fabric or bias tape- which is what  I used for my first two versions of this pattern.  It has a smoother less bulky finish.  I also closed the wrap front with some stitches and ended up taking an inch or so of ease out of the upper side seams to get the look I wanted. Whew!  A lot of adjustments, but worth it.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  This was my third time, so I think I’m done, but I do recommend it to others with modifications.

One Response to “Vogue 1225 Modified”

  1. Carolyn June 19, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    This is a gorgeous top, and the pattern as a dress looks lovely too. Thank you for the review, and the tip on raising the armhole! Will keep in mind…
    And thanks for your kind comment on my blog!

Leave a Reply

