Vogue 1225 Dress

29 Jun

I made two of these dresses for my trip to Ecuador back in April.  I really wanted some cute and comfortable dresses to withstand the heat and this pattern fit the bill.

Here’s my first version in blue:

Here we are in Canoa, Ecuador.  El Senor on the left is my dad, who is building a house close by. Unfortunately, this is the only picture I have of myself wearing either dress during the trip.  I think I was too busy trying to keep my toddler from falling off of this balcony:

Looks super child-proof, right?

Anyway, here’s the review:

Pattern Description:  Loose-fitting, pullover dress, above mid-knee, has mock wrap bodice with gathered, draped front, elasticized waist and pockets, back neckline has slit and adjustable drawstring tie ends.

Pattern Sizing:  BB(8-10-12-14), F5(16-18-20-22-24). I made a straight 16.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes- minus the pockets.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This pattern is perfect for a casual summer dress that is super easy and comfortable to wear.  That said, it needed a number of small adjustments to get things ‘just right’.

Fabric Used: Cotton blend knit from G-Street Fabrics in Seven Corners, Va. bought in 2006 or 2007 for $2.97/yd.  Bustin’ the stash!  I always called this my “Ugly Fabric”  but I did so endearingly. I like big ugly prints in funky color combinations.  It was a perfect fabric/pattern match for two reasons:  I had just enough yardage for the 3.5 yards that this fabrichog of a pattern calls for and secondly this knit will NOT stay unwrinkled. Ever. So it was perfect for a casual dress with lots of gathers.  I think the constant wrinkling is why I made two versions in the same print  [but different colors].

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  I didn’t do the pockets or petticoat. I have no problems filling out this skirt!  I raised the armhole by an inch, lowered the waistline by an inch and used purchased bias tape instead of a self-fabric casing.  The bias tape had a neater finish and I usually wear this dress belted so the extra stitch line doesn’t bother me this time.  I also ended up taking an inch out of the bodice side seams and I tacked the front closed so I wouldn’t have to wear a tank under it.

As you can see- I didn’t bother with matching patterns.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I did sew it again!  I’ve made this pattern three times so I think I’m done – – atleast for now.

2 Responses to “Vogue 1225 Dress”

  1. Lakaribane June 30, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    I love it! I think you convinced me to get this pattern. I’m still worried about the monster yardage but it’s really growing on me.

    Love the pattern too: blue and brown are my favorite color combo (tied with pink and brown!)

    I may just need three of those myself, LOL!

    • justsewsew July 14, 2011 at 2:13 am #

      Do it! It’s a perfect warm weather dress. The yardage is ALL the skirt. I like those color combos too- especially blue, lime, and brown.

Leave a Reply

